Home General Info Business Tourism Government Cities & Municipalities
Gawad Medalyang Ginto recognizes outstanding Bulakenya
Monday, 14 March 2011
CITY OF MALOLOS –Citing the importance of women’s role in nation building and their significant part in the nation’s history, Gov. Wilhelmino Sy-Alvarado will lead the Gawad Medalyang Ginto for Outstanding Women in Bulacan on Monday at the Capitol Gymnasium here.

The event will be one of the highlights of the celebration of Women’s Month this March in accordance with Presidential Proclamation 224 and 227. It will be anchored with the theme: “Sa Aming Bayan, Bawat Babae ay Bayani”.

Alvarado said, the program aims to acknowledge and give due recognition to the important contributions and worthy achievement of the women of Bulacan. He said that in the field of public service and in the private sector many women have excelled and continues to inspire the people as role models.
“Espesyal ang araw na ito dahil ipagdiriwang natin ang walang patid na pakikibaka ng mga kababaihan tungo sa kaunlaran at tagumpay,” Alvarado said.

The governor will lead the presentation of Sectoral Awards for the “Matagumpay na Ginang na OFW”, “Matagumpay na Babaeng Mangangalakal”, “Matagumpay na Babae sa Gawaing Panlalaki”,” Matagumpay na Konsehong Pambayan para sa Kababaihan” and “Matagumpay na Babae sa larangan ng Pulitika while the “Medalyang Ginto” will be awarded to the outstanding woman of Bulacan and outstanding women’s organization.

There are 24 women nominated for the awards and were chosen for their outstanding achievements in community building and development.

Based on the data from the Panlalawigang Komisyon ng Kababaihan sa Bulacan, 74 outstanding women have already been given recognition since the awarding rites was started several years ago.
Former outstanding women awardees includes former 4th District Rep. Reylina Nicolas and incumbent 4th District Rep. Linabelle Villarica.

Meanwhile, Bulacan 1st District Rep. Ma. Victoria R. Sy-Alvarado said the province of Bulacan is blessed with many women leaders and achievers.

She said there are presently two lady congresswomen in the province (Alvarado and Villarica) and four lady mayors, Meycauayan City Mayor Joan Alarilla, San Ildefonso Mayor Paula Tan, Plaridel Mayor Tessie Vistan and former 3rd district congresswoman now San Rafael Mayor Lorna Silverio. ###

Back to 2011 News Archive Menu
© 2007 Provincial Government of Bulacan, Philippines. Developed by the Provincial Information Technology Office.
Experience Bulacan