Home General Info Business Tourism Government Cities & Municipalities
Bulacan to award outstanding women
Monday, 19 March 2012
CITY OF MALOLOS- In line with the celebration of Women’s Month, Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado will recognize the outstanding contributions of the Bulakenya women through the Gawad Medalyang Ginto to be held in March 20 at 8 a.m. at the Hiyas ng Bulacan Convention Center.

Alvarado said that the theme of the event will anchor on “Bulakenya: Kayang-kaya Kung Sama-sama” and Department of Justice Sec. Leila De Lima is expected to grace the event.

“This program aims to acknowledge and give due recognition to the important contributions and worthy achievement of the women of Bulacan. We also hope that this will serve as an inspiration to our young generation of Bulakenya women to continue to mark a difference in their own chosen fields,” said Alvarado.

The governor will also lead the awarding of the winners of the sectoral categories such as Matagumpay na Babaeng Makakalikasan, Matagumpay na Ginang ng OFW, Matagumpay na Babaeng Mangangalakal, and Matagumpay na KPK.

Meanwhile, the Medalyang Ginto will be awarded to the “Natatanging Babae” or outstanding woman of Bulacan who will receive a cash prize worth P10,000 and also to the “Natatanging Samahang Pangkakabaihan” or outstanding women’s organization that will be given P 20,000.

“Espesyal ang araw na ito dahil ipagdiriwang natin ang walang patid na pakikibaka ng mga kababaihan tungo sa kaunlaran at tagumpay,” Alvarado said.

Eva Fajardo, chairman of the Panlalawigang Komisyon para sa Kababaihan ng Bulacan (PKKB), said that there are 39 nominees and only a few will be chosen for their outstanding achievements in community building and development.

“Layunin din nitong magbigay inspirasyon sa mga kababaihan upang patuloy na magpunyagi sa larangang kanilang kinabibilangan at magsilbing advocacy para sa ibang lalawigan na nagpapakitang ang kababaihan ay katuwang nito sa pag-unlad,” added Fajardo.

As of today, there are already 66 women and 14 organizations that had been awarded by this commission.

Former outstanding women awardees include former 4th District Rep. Reylina Nicolas and incumbent 4th District Rep. Linabelle Villarica. ###

Back to 2012 News Archive Menu
© 2007 Provincial Government of Bulacan, Philippines. Developed by the Provincial Information Technology Office.
Experience Bulacan