Home General Info Business Tourism Government Cities & Municipalities
Alvarado remains Bulacan gov
Monday, 27 May 2013
CITY OF MALOLOS— Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado and his running mate, Vice Governor Daniel Fernando, will continue to lead Bulacan into greater heights as the Commission on Elections verified their victory in the 2013 elections.

Out of the 1, 205,364 who actually voted, Alvarado garnered 894,593 votes that almost eclipse the one million mark despite running unopposed. Fernando, as vice governor, garnered 914, 960 votes.

After serving the province for three years as the governor, Alvarado said that he would like to carry on his prospect of giving the Bulakenyos a better province to live in.

“We are very thankful for the trust and support from our fellow Bulakenyos. We will continue what we have started. I urged everyone to keep on supporting our programs that are anchored on our seven-point agenda which includes environment, health, education, transparent governance, livelihood, peace and order, and history and culture,” the governor said.

He added that his first term as the governor gave him an apparent perception on the real situation of the Bulakenyos and how to make development prosper in the province.

“Our goal is to make Bulacan a new engine of economic growth. Tamang-tama ang ating lokasyon. Itinuturing ang Bulacan na Gateway to the North. Kaya ang industriyalisasyong mangyayari sa ating lalawigan ay magpapayabong rin ng ekonomiya ng ibang lalawigan sa Central at Northern Luzon,” said Alvarado.

Other newly-elected officials of the province who will be taking oath are board members from each district such as Michael Fermin (167,051), Toti Ople (157,104) and Ayee Ople (151,776) for the first district; Buko Dela Cruz (153,263) and Monet Posadas (121,988) for second district; Nono Castro (108,383)and Erning Sulit (85,069) for third district; and Jonjon Delos Santos (193,446), King Sarmiento (170,113) and Allan Ray Baluyut (149,556) for fourth district.

New members of House of the Representatives include Ma. Victoria Sy-Alvarado (1st district) with 217, 632 votes, Apol Pancho (2nd district) with 156,788 votes, Jonjon Mendoza (3rd district) with 122,079 votes, Linabelle Ruth Villarica (4th district) with 197,727 votes and Arthur Robes (lone district of SJDM).

Bulacan election supervisor Atty. Elmo Duque, however, said that the winning mayors of Bulacan are Leonardo de Leon of Angat; Romeo Castro of Balagtas; Eduardo Villanueva Jr. of Bocaue; Jessie de Jesus of Calumpit; Ronaldo T. Flores of Dona Remedios Trinidad; Enrico Roque of Pandi; Vicente Esguerra Sr., of Pulilan; and Cipriano Violago of San Rafael.

In the coastal town of Hagonoy Raulito “Amboy” Manlapaz Jr., of the Partido ng Masang Pilipino has unseated reelectionist Mayor Angel Cruz Jr.

In Paombong town, independent mayoral Isagani Castro—said to be a virtual unknown in the political scene in that coastal town, which was ruled for so many years by outgoing national president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines and last termer Mayor Donato Marcos –beat the latter’s wife Mary Ann of the Liberal party.

In Norzagaray town, long time Mayor Feliciano Legaspi Sr. (National Unity Party) was beaten by Alfredo Gelmar of the Liberal Party. Like Manlapaz of Hagonoy, Castro of Paombong and Galvez of San Ildefonso, this was the first time that Gelmar run for the mayorship of his town and won.

Reelectionists Mayors Christian D. Natividad of Malolos City and Joan Alarilla of the City of Meycauayan –both from the liberal party—won landslide victories over their respective rivals.###

Back to 2013 News Archive Menu
© 2007 Provincial Government of Bulacan, Philippines. Developed by the Provincial Information Technology Office.
Experience Bulacan