Home General Info Business Tourism Government Cities & Municipalities
History General Info Business Tourism Government
Take four typical pilgrims, a bachelor, a spinsters and a childless couple. Settle them into a rustic-peaceful town somewhere in Central Luzon. Make them dance with considerable faith before the image of tree patron saints in an old historic church. Add some seafood with a sprinkling of "mangga at suman". That's Obando in nutshell.

As early as the 18th century, Obando was just a part of the municipality of Meycauayan together with Polo that formed a barrio called Catanghalan. The increase in population and improvement in its finances led to the separation of Obando and Polo (now Valenzuela). Founded on May 14,1753, the town was named in honor of Don Jose Francisco de Obando; the then Spanish governor-general of the Philippines.

Valenzuela in the East, Malabon in the Southwest and Meycauayan and Bulacan in North bound Obando. Ten barrios all nestled in 13 square miles of land, and these are Catanghalan, Panghulo, Pag-asa, Paliwas, Quebadia, Hulo, Lawa, Paco, Tawiran and Binuangan.

Economically, socially and politically, Obando is making a headway, in its modest way, twenty years after it had risen from the ruins of war in 1945, thanks to its God-loving, industrious and hospitable people. With high hopes the town gazes at its bright future.

The town of Obando was named after Governor General Jose Francisco de Obando y Solis who was responsible for decreeing Obando as a separate and independent town on May 14, 1753.
© 2007 Provincial Government of Bulacan, Philippines. Developed by the Provincial Information Technology Office.
Experience Bulacan